Tomorrow! Charles conducts Smetana's "My Country" with the Athens State Symphony Orchestra

January 26, 2017



FRI. 27 JAN. 2017, 20:30

Megaron – The Athens Concert Hall

Ch. Lambrakis Hall


    My Fatherland, cycle of six symphonic poems


    Charles Olivieri-Munroe

  • 19:45

    Free introductory talk for ticket holders 


€25, €15, €10 and €5 (concessions)


Although the Czech composer Bedrich Smetana went deaf towards the end of his life, he continued to compose with a passion. In an era in which Europe’s national consciousnesses were awakening, Smetana looked to his roots, drawing on personal experiences to compose the My Fatherland cycle, a work which transcends its deep local roots to address the whole of Mankind. The Athens State Orchestra performs the work in its entirety for the first time in its history under the baton of Charles Olivieri-Munroe.

Please reload